If I weren’t already a Christian…

Think of a group of religious individuals who claim to be full of love and compassion…they call themselves “faithful Christians.” But it’s funny how the most disrespectful, rude, degrading slanders that I have ever heard come from – not Muslims or atheists – but Christians.
This is not at all to discourage non-believers from choosing Christianity, but this is to encourage believers to step up and to live a life that truly encompasses their Christian morals.
And if I weren’t already a Christian, I probably wouldn’t be…
If I weren’t already a Christian, I probably wouldn’t be if I heard the racial slurs that I still hear in 2017 from “faithful Christians.”
If I weren’t already a Christian, I probably wouldn’t be if I were banned from a country by a “faithful Christian.”
If I weren’t already a Christian, I probably wouldn’t be if I were told by a “faithful Christian” to go back to my own country to practice my religion.
If I weren’t already a Christian, I probably wouldn’t be if I were told I am going to hell by a “faithful Christian,” because I don’t share the same political beliefs as them.
If I weren’t already a Christian, I probably wouldn’t be if a “faithful Christian” told me I won’t go to heaven because I am gay.
If I weren’t already a Christian, I probably wouldn’t be if I saw a “faithful Christian” living a life full of hypocrisy.
If I weren’t already a Christian, I probably wouldn’t be if a “faithful Christian” stared me up and down in disgust because of the clothes I wear.
If I weren’t already a Christian, I probably wouldn’t be if I felt “faithful Christians” judge me for the life I lived in my past.
If I weren’t already a Christian, I probably wouldn’t be if I approached a “faithful Christian” and they acted like they were better than me.
If I weren’t already a Christian, I probably wouldn’t be if I spoke to a “faithful Christian” and could see they felt more entitled to practice their religious beliefs than I am mine.
If I weren’t already Christian, I probably wouldn’t be if I were scolded for my tattoos and piercings by “faithful Christians.”
If I weren’t already Christian, I probably wouldn’t be if “faithful Christians” were unwelcoming in this place many consider as a safeguard for broken, hurting individuals.
Don’t get me wrong. I am a Christian. I love being a Christian. I love God. I love Jesus Christ. I love feeling the Holy Spirit working within me. I love praising and worshipping Him. I am very prayer-driven and have a very strong relationship with my Savior. Without God, I would be not anywhere near where I am in this moment.

But…

“For God does not show favoritism.” -Romans 2:11

Christians:

If you want them to be Christian, treat them as Christ would want you to.  No one is asking you to agree with them. No one is asking you to spend a lot of time. But remember that all of these individuals you have steered away from salvation are sinners. You should try your hardest to lead them to Jesus. Let them feel the Holy Spirit the way that you do. You didn’t deserve eternal life any more than they deserve it.  I understand that you are not Jesus Christ – BUT your job as a child of His is act so closely to His ways as possible. It is your job to reflect His love and compassion unto them. Let us take the negative connotation of the “Christian” name.

Others:

I’m sorry if you’ve felt rejected by the church. I’m sorry if you’ve felt judgment from Christians. I’m sorry if you felt like you didn’t belong in a place that was supposed to be your safe place. Just as you don’t like to all be categorized, do not categorize us all. I promise there are some loving, compassionate, welcoming Christians who would love to share the Gospel with you. And, by no means, do not think that these “faithful Christians” reflect the characteristics of Him. He is not hateful. He is loving; He is compassionate; He is accepting; and He is forgiving. 

Christ died for everyone – for people of all sexual orientations, of all body shapes, of all religions, of all genders, of all ethnicities, of all languages, from all lifestyles – and He loves each and every single one of them the same. He loves Muslims as much as he loves Christians. He loves Middle-Easterners AND MANY MORE as much as He loves Americans. He loves us all and He wants you to show that same love that He would, so that you may bring them to Him so that they may experience the same love by Him that we are privileged to experience.
God’s unfailing grace – which we are so beyond blessed for – will not be shared if Christians have such a negative connotation to their name.
By no means am I perfect, and I will never claim to be. But I know that if you have a heart full of hate, there is no way you can truly know Christ. For Christ does not fill you with hate, but He fills you with love so abundant you can’t help but want to pour it into others. 

Isaiah 46:4 // Brandi Addison

Leave a Reply

