The “entitled millennials” and their “laziness”

One of my biggest pet peeves is whenever adults “flow” with the trend and forms the same opinion that everyone else has.
No, Whatburger is actually not the best just because you’re in Texas and everyone else loves it. No, bacon doesn’t make you American – or “un-American” if you don’t like it.
And no, “millennials” do not feel entitled to everything.
You’re beyond wrong for saying that. In fact, I am more than 100% positive half of you don’t even know what the word “entitled” truly means.

en·ti·tled inˈtīdld,enˈtīdld/

adjective

believing oneself to be inherently deserving of privileges or special treatment.

Soooooo, as you sit on the couch watching the news, you’re scrolling through your news feed on Facebook or your timeline on Twitter, watching the news on the television – listening to it even, and you proceed to see protests.
Protests fighting for women’s equality, protests fighting for LGBTQ equality, protests against President Trump in general.
What you don’t research are the demographics for these protests. These are people of all ages – not just liberals, not just non-christians (as I know a lot of you would like to believe so you can make up some excuse for their “stupidity”). There are baby boomers, generation x, and the millennials all in attendance of these protests believe it or not.
Beyond demographics, if I am not mistaken, for someone to “inherently deserve privileges” is NOT to fight for their passions. Which is exactly what these millennials are doing – just as Generation X did for Love Canal or Earth Day 1990, or the Baby Boomers did for…everything.
But for a person to “inherently deserve privileges” means they sit on their butt and expect it to be given to them right then. These protestors do not do that. They fight for it.
Maybe it isn’t the protests that makes you all say we’re entitled, maybe it’s that we live with our parents longer than the generations before us did.
Sure, we live with our parents longer. That makes us entitled because we’re obviously not working, right? We’re just expecting our parents to take care of us for as long as we want, right? Wrong.
One, we had to have been raised to behave like this and to rely so much on our parents. Not all of us do cling to our parents, not even as many of us as you think. But if we did, it was never our choice to not go out after a certain time. It was never our choice to not be able to play in our front yard as children. It was never our choice to contact our parents and tell them every single place we went to every single day. You all are the generations who constantly exclaim what a dangerous world this world has become since you all were children and you all are the ones who enforce us to rely on you so much.
However, I have noticed the millennial generation to be very independent and very self-relient.
Two, we are not the ones who chose to take useful classes out of our public education. We are not the ones who choose the curriculum that is offered. We didn’t vote on the people who chose this – you all did. It is not our fault that every millennial female doesn’t know how to sew a dress or crochet a blanket or quilt like you may want us to. It is not our fault that no one ever taught us how to budget or how to do our taxes.
Three, everything is so much more expensive for such a lower salary than what all you had.
In a time where a person my age is not hirable without a degree, this absolutely sucks for us. In 1980, the average cost to attend college was $8,756. In the ‘90s it was, $12,303. In the 2000s, it was $15,996. In 2010, the cost was $21,657, and I know for a fact it has certainly increased since then.
So here’s where you argue that we receive better pay which is why prices have increased. Wrong again. We are making less than any generation before us. In fact, we earn about 20 percent less than what our parents made at this same age. This is considered the greatest recession to try to build a career in since the Great Depression. Yet prices for everything are still increasing. Some might even argue we will never be able to have the same standards of living that our parents do.
Maybe it isn’t the protests and maybe it also isn’t because we are still living with our parents that makes you say we’re entitled. Maybe it’s because we’re not doing hard labor.
We are not using our hands, no. We do not chop wood, we do not mow lawns, we do not do whatever it is that you think we should do but don’t. But society has changed – we have transitioned to whatever is demanded in right now’s time. And by no means does that mean we are lazy.
We are not lazy. We are not entitled. We are not expecting handovers. We work for what we want and we work hard for it.
I am currently taking 17 hours in college – working 15-20 hours per week (writing a news story every weekday and contacting three sources per each story for an interview). I had to drop a class because of it. If you don’t know what that looks like, let me put it in words for you.
On a normal Monday, I have a class at 9 a.m., a class at 10 a.m., a class at 11 a.m., a class at 1 p.m., and after 3 p.m. when I finally am done with class for the day – I have a 4:30 p.m. deadline to meet for the campus newspaper. I also will more than likely have two to three interviews on a Monday afternoon.
Tuesdays? Are they better? Absolutely not. This is when I maintain my social life. I meet a friend at 9 a.m. for a Bible study. I have a class from 11:00 a.m. to 12:20 p.m. then normally a class (which I just dropped out of) from 12:30 to 1:50 p.m. I still have that 4:30 p.m. deadline and still have those two to three interviews. Add on top of that a small staff meeting and a group Bible study at 7 p.m.
My Wednesdays are probably my freest days. I have a 9 a.m., I have a 10 a.m., and an 11 a.m. That is all. Whew. So, naturally, I don’t know what to do with the time and I crunch all my interviews on this afternoon. 4:30 p.m. deadline still.
Thursday, my craziest day. Worse than any other day of the week. I would have had an 11 a.m. to 12:20 p.m. then a 12:30 p.m. to 1:50 p.m. I have a 3:30 p.m. newswriting lab to 5:30 p.m. Then I have a staff meeting from 5:30 to 6:30 or 7 p.m. There’s an eight hour workday and I still have a 4:30 p.m. deadline.
Friday is kind of a relief. I only have a 9 a.m. and 10 a.m. which is very much needed. However, like today, I had four interviews to prepare for next week’s stories.
Don’t forget, I do have homework and tests and essays to still work on – and especially do not forget that my job isn’t finished after the interviews. I have to transcribe and write it all out, planning my stories as far as 12-14 days before they will even be published.
No. I am not asking for sympathy – I do not want sympathy. And yes, I understand I am choosing to put this load on me. I love what all I do in a single day because I can do it. I love that I can do it because I am expected to be able to do it.
We are expected to work this hard in order to succeed and further a career. If I didn’t work this hard, I wouldn’t even be given a chance to be successful later in life.
I am 19 and I have written for six different publications as a staff writer – because I worked for it, not because I think I am owed anything. I work hard so I can have a chance; I work hard so I can start building my savings; I work hard so I can proudly boast that I have earned my Bachelor’s before I even turned 21; I work hard so I can look over what professionals say – so I can be able to say I live even better standards of living than what my parents did.
As a journalism major, there’s nothing more that I hate than being told how easy it is and that’s why I have all As – and I especially hate when people tell me how poor I am going to be. I work every single day to reach the top of my industry, which is a lot higher pay than what everyone thinks and a lot more work than what everyone thinks.
Quit judging millennials for their passions. Quit calling millennials lazy. Quit telling them they’re not going to become anything if they’re not in the mathematical or science fields. Quit thinking college is easy. It’s not easy by any means – for some it might be; these are the people “millennials” are generalized with.
And I am absolutely livid to be generalized with these types of individuals. I work harder than most adults. And I know for a fact I know I work harder than the adult who constantly brings up “millennial entitlement.” It’s just a different kind of work.
We are just trying to be successful. I am just trying to be successful. So, before you generalize all college-aged students as “entitled millennials,” keep in mind those millennials who are supposedly “entitled” are actually the minority of our generation.
Keep in mind, I have a friend whose family moved from Mexico and all three of the daughters are at incredible private institutions – Columbia and Stanford – coming in at ages 14, 10, and 8 speaking absolutely no English.
Keep in mind, I have two friends currently at Harvard – one who is majoring in engineering, performing in theatre, playing intramural soccer, and working a part-time job, while still managing to make all As.
Keep in mind, I have a friend who at Texas Christian University, who is defeating gender stereotypes and majoring in engineering. In fact, I know quite a bit of female engineers.
Keep in mind, I have a friend at Notre Dame, a friend at Brown University, a friend at University of Massachusetts – so many prestigious schools.
Keep in mind, I have a friend who has taught himself fourteen different languages – fluently.
Keep in mind, a girl the same program I am studying at the university I attend is currently working for ESPN as a sports journalist for the Mavs and for the Rangers – consecutively – even when the two sports are running at the same time.
Keep in mind, I was the statistician for the varsity baseball team and since 2006, there have been (I believe) six players from my high school drafted into the MLB.
Keep in mind, I have a friend who composes his own music – a white guy, currently on a mission as a Mormon – which he had converted to roughly a year and a half before his mission – as a Spanish speaker.
Keep in mind, I have friends studying to be trauma doctors, friends studying to be cancer researchers, friends studying to be politicians, and friends hoping to go on Broadway. I have friends who are trying to get their names out their musically – on the X Factor and America’s Got Talent.
Keep in mind, I have friends going from nation to nation as missionaries, trying to make an impact on God’s kingdom.
Yes, we are fighting against the things you believe in. Yes, it might take longer for us to get out of our parents’ homes. Yes, you are right – some of use do not know how to change our tires or change our own oil or plow a field or whatever. But I also know people in my generation who are doing way bigger things than half of the people from previous generations couldn’t even think of doing. And, ultimately, what we did in the end will matter more than how long it took us to get there.

Isaiah 46:4 // Brandi Addison

Leave a Reply

